My Two July Babies

I plan on writing my next manuscript in July. I’m participating in Camp NaNoWriMo, so I’ve got that extra drive to see it through to completion. The story is mapped out, the major characters defined. I’ve even drawn a map of the world to scale. I’ve already started writing scenes in my head. I am SO EXCITED to finally start writing again! The elevator pitch I came up with today:

After finding a talking sword, Jaq gets caught up in a quest to save her brother’s life and countless others. To succeed, she must slay a monstrous beast with only the help of the sword, which happens to abhor bloodshed.

My other July baby is an actual baby. Guess what, readers? I’m having a baby! No, not in nine months. More like, in one. I’m currently 37 weeks pregnant and due July 18th.

Screen Shot 2017-06-29 at 2.48.22 PM

So why am I taking on a writing project right before my baby is due? Three reasons:

  1. I’d like to get as much of this story drafted as I canΒ before the baby comes. Because I’m going to be super busy kissing and cuddling a newborn soon.
  2. Judging by my November NaNoWriMo stats, I should be able to complete or write a good chunk of this manuscript before July 18th. But also:
  3. I tend to hold onto my babies until 42 weeks, meaning this baby might not actually be born until the first week of August. That gives me PLENTY of time to complete a manuscript!

I might post less over the next few months since things will be pretty busy around here. I’ve got a book related post planned for next week that I’m already working on, and I’ll probably do an update on my Camp NaNoWriMo stats (We are cabin Spotted Sasquatch. Hit me up if you are still looking for a cabin to join!). Hopefully, I won’t disappear altogether, but if I do, at least now you’ll know the reason why!

9 thoughts on “My Two July Babies

  1. Congratulations on your baby!!! And also props to you for being in the third trimester in the summer AND writing a manuscript.

    You
    Go
    Girl
    πŸ†πŸ’ͺπŸ»πŸ†πŸ’ͺπŸ»πŸ†πŸ’ͺπŸ»πŸ†

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on the baby! That is so exciting! A weird question just popped into my head: how different is baby naming from character naming? Do they even have any similarities? I am hooked by your elevator pitch, the pacifist sword brings to mind the late, great Terry Pratchett.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I read about the sword in Terry Pratchett’s book online, but haven’t read the book yet. Hopefully, mine will be different enough but we’ll see!

      Naming characters and babies has a few similarities but is also VERY different. At least for me. Often I’ll like/love a name but it isn’t good enough for a potential baby name so I’ll keep it in mind for a future character πŸ˜‚ I think choosing character names is a lot easier in general. But with kids, you have to think, “are they going to like it too? How might we get nicknames out of it? Will they get teased for its weirdness? Will people (teachers) be able to read and easily pronounce it correctly?”
      For characters, I want names that are easy enough for readers to guess the pronunciation of, but other than that, naming is much simpler.

      Like

      1. I am sure you story will be different from Terry Pratchett’s, though it is a good idea to read it, like you said. Two people can write the exact some premise and come up with wildly different and equally fascinating stories.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

