July Writing and Reading Progress

I won Camp NaNoWriMo yesterday! Screen Shot 2017-07-31 at 3.34.51 PMI’ve written over 35,000 words in the month of July. My initial goal was higher, but pregnancy brain got the better of me. So I lowered my goal to something more manageable (35k words) and completed it!

I feel really good about the progress I’ve made writing The Sword of the Witch so far. I’m probably around 2/3 done with the story.

What’s even more exciting is that I already have my next story idea in mind!! I know, I know, I already had two other stories waiting in line to be written next (both trilogies). And The Sword of the Witch is a duology, and I really should dive into book two while it’s fresh on my mind…but this NEW story ❤️❤️❤️ It’s stolen all of my attention!

It might be the most challenging thing I’ve ever tried to write. No, that’s not true. I regularly try to challenge myself to write out of my comfort zone and push the boundaries on what I’m familiar with. But this new story will take me in TWO exciting new directions that I’ve never tried out before, and I’m really excited about it. I know I’m being vague. The story is under wraps for now. Sorry, not sorry. My lips are sealed.

Books

I’ve only read three books this month, and one of them I started in the month of June. My goal has been writing, obviously, so I’m not sad about the low number.

I finished The Clockwork Dynasty by Daniel H. Wilson (⭐️⭐️⭐️). It was interesting enough. It is meant to be a thriller though, and it failed to really hook me. Check out my review on Goodreads.

I read The Carver (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️) and was given the amazing opportunity to interview the author, Jacob Devlin afterwards. You can check out the questions I asked and his answers right here on my blog, or read my full review of The Carver on Goodreads.

The most recent book I read was Unfinished by Jack Vaughn (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️). It’s a story about ghosts that isn’t a ghost story. It was really good and has an absolutely amazing ending!

Currently, I’m reading The Memory Agent by Matthew B.J. Delaney because I got an ARC copy of it from Net Galley. My to-be-read pile is really stacking up. I expect to do a lot of reading in the next month or two, so hopefully I’ll be able to get it down to a manageable size!

 

Leave a Reply

