Mystery Blogger Award

I was nominated for the Mystery Blogger Award by the witty, intelligent, and fun Aubrey Leaman, author of If Mermaids Wore Suspenders. Aubrey is much better at posting interesting and unique things than me, including classical music recommendations for specific books, story mashups that should happen, and quirky thoughts about literary characters like what they would wear for Halloween or what Hogwarts House they would be sorted into. I feel very honored to receive a shout out from her!

According to the Mystery Blogger Rules established by Okoto Enigma, I am supposed to tell you three things about myself now.

  1. I am a wife and mother. I don’t like to talk about my personal life a whole lot here, but I have posted a few things about my family before. My kids absolutely adorable, full of sweet toddler cuddles that I can never get enough of!
  2. I am vegan. It isn’t just a diet. When we were couch shopping last year, we confounded all the salespeople who helped us by asking about their vegan couches (no leather, no feathers).
  3. I love food. Being vegan we cook a lot, making a wide range of world foods. I also love to bake. Our three year old often helps in the kitchen, and at Christmas he and some of our extended family helped me cutout and decorate sugar and gingerbread cookies!

fullsizerender

 

And now to answer the questions that Aubrey posted:

  • If you could have a conversation with any fictional character, who would it be and why?
    • I have absolutely no idea. I’ve been thinking about this for a while and I still don’t know. Part of the problem is that since the character is fictional I don’t think I could learn much from them outside of what is already in their story. I’d rather speak to the authors/creators I think.
  • If you were to become a famous musician or singer, what kind of music would you be famous for?
    • Something dynamic and electronic, maybe with heavy beats and 30s or 40s music or something more synth pop.
  • If you were to become a famous author, what kind of books would you be famous for?
    • Fantasy with a few science fiction stories thrown into the mix hopefully, seeing as how that is what I’ve been writing for the last year and a half!
  • Would you rather have someone constantly narrating your life like a voiceover or be constantly followed around by theme music?
    • Theme music for sure because then I could dance!
  • If it became an option for people to move to another planet, would you move there? Why or why not?
    • This is oddly one of the things that always terrifies me about space stories. What if the protective dome breaks and all the breathable air is sucked out? Instant death for the entire community! If it were possible to move to a ‘new earth’ of sorts with a breathable atmosphere and the trip had been done loads of times before and was safe, I would totally do it. Is it necessary for me to mention here that I grew up hating rollercoasters because why would anyone unnecessarily risk their life in such a way?!? Don’t worry, I’m over that now, but I am still not much of a risk taker when it comes to life and limb.

I feel like I’m still figuring out this whole blogging thing. I go back and forth between posting writing advice (like about The Worst Mistake a Writer Can Make) and personal updates on my own writing progress. I’m not sure that is a bad thing though, so I’ll probably keep doing it in the future. Thanks, Aubrey for the Award nomination!

Happy New Year everyone!

 

6 thoughts on “Mystery Blogger Award

  1. Congratulations on the nomination!

    I have the same fear of the protective dome on the new planet breaking, but I think I’d still go because it would be an adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment