Book Review: The Fire Queen

The Fire Queen releases September 26, 2017. It is the second book in The Hundredth Queen Series, by Emily R. King. It follows a young warrior queen’s rise to meet her destiny in a richly imagined world of sorcery and forbidden powers. Religion plays an important part in the stories, since the powers are godly gifts, passed down from generation to generation.

If you read and enjoyed The Hundredth Queen, The Fire Queen is a must read!
5189qlo5xal-_sy346_
The Fire Queen is even better than the first book in the series. The excitement is more unique and surprising as well as more consistent throughout the story. There were a few surprises that I didn’t see coming, which I enjoyed. I really loved the magic in this book. We get to see a lot more of the bhuta abilities, and the main character explores her own unique abilities to a very impressive end.

King’s writing is excellent. She has beautiful imagery. This line, after the main character reflects on her remorse for her best friend, is an good example:

“I set aside my charcoal stick and brush my fingertips clean. The soot has sunk into the lines of my skin, like my guilt over her death.”

Overall, The Fire Queen is an exciting, interesting, and fun read. I highly recommend it.

four-stars_0

Leave a Reply

