Fairy Tale Fiction

Do people still write fairy tales? Good ones, I mean. I finished another book today, and I was disappointed with it right from the start. I think my expectations were too high. I think what I really wanted to read was a fairy tale. It was not a fairy tale.

What I would like to read is a modern day fairy tale that doesn’t take place in the modern world. Meaning, I want it to be modern in the feminist and antiracist sort of ways, but not in the cell phones and jeans kind of ways.

Does that exist?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to say that I want a ‘good old fashioned’ fairy tale. I’ve read original versions of fairy tales that have been twisted over the years to suit our modern tastes. That isn’t what I’m hoping to read.

I don’t want just any book about magic, courts, castles, or maids and princes. I want a sweet, slightly cheesy, fairy tale. Maybe it can have a moral. That’d be okay with me. Does that exist?

2 thoughts on “Fairy Tale Fiction

Leave a Reply

